Friday, November 14, 2008

Pair of front-runners emerge to lead Illinois Senate

Top - Senator John Cullerton
Bottom - Senator James Clayborne

SPRINGFIELD - A decision on who will take the reins of the Illinois Senate in January could come as soon as next week.
Meeting for the first time since the general election, members of the Illinois Senate spent Wednesday jockeying for position in the leadership scramble caused by the pending retirement of Senate President Emil Jones, D-Chicago.
Whoever crosses the finish line first could attempt to set a different tone in the General Assembly, which has been mired in political gridlock for the past two years.The infighting among Democrats who control the Senate, House and governor's office has left the state saddled with a budget deficit and a lack of progress on a long-sought road- and bridge-building program.
Front-runners to replace Jones include Democratic state Sens. John Cullerton of Chicago and James Clayborne of Belleville.

Democrat Elected Officials

  • Effingham County Board Distric G-Doug McCain
  • Effingham County Treasurer - Steve Dasenbrock
  • Effingham County Board District C - Karen Luchtefeld

Effingham County Democrats Officers

  • Chairman - Audrey Griffith
  • First Vice Chairman - Dan Niebrugge
  • Second Vice Chairman - Allen Wente
  • Secretary - James Hammer
  • Treasurer - Shirley McEvers