Saturday, March 27, 2010

Pirtle Re-elected

Today at the Illinois Democrat County Chairmen's
Association's reorganization meeting Alan Pirtle,
Monroe county chairman,was re-elected
president of the organization.

The Illinois Democratic County Chairmen's Association (ILDCCA) is a grass roots organization comprised of the Democratic county chairman from each of Illinois' 102 counties. The ILDCCA is a driving force behind building the Democratic Party from the ground up with the basic mission of electing Democrats from the county courthouse to the White House.

IDCCA metting

Top - Alan Pirtle introduces Gov. Pat Quinn and Lt. Gov. nominee Sheila Simon.
Center - Gov. Pat Quinn addresses the IDCCA.
Bottom - Lt. Gov. nominee Sheila Simon takes her turn at the podium.

Friday, March 26, 2010

McHaney Appointed

Congratulations to the Honorable Judge Michael McHaney on his recent annonucement from the Illinois Supreme Court. Remeber Judge McHaney will still be on the ballot in the general election in November and would still appreciate your VOTE.

Quinn backing Sheila Simon for lieutenant governor

SPRINGFIELD - — Democratic Gov. Pat Quinn made an about-face on his choice for a running mate and plans to unveil Sheila Simon, the daughter of the late U.S. Sen. Paul Simon, as his preferred candidate for lieutenant governor, sources familiar with the selection said Thursday night.The sources, who asked not to be identified so as to not pre-empt Quinn's public announcement on Friday, said the governor rejected another top contender for the post, state Sen. Susan Garrett of Lake Forest. She has been reluctant to fully embrace his call for an income tax increase. Simon has said she would back the governor's plan.The state Democratic Central Committee is set to vote on a running mate Saturday in Springfield, and Quinn has said he hopes they will endorse his recommendation.

Full article.....,0,777180,full.story

Wednesday, March 17, 2010

Quinn Signs Bill to Move Illinois’ Primary

SPRINGFIELD - March 17, 2010. Governor Pat Quinn today signed a bill into law that moves Illinois’ general primary election to the third Tuesday in March of even-numbered years. Currently, the primary election is held on the first Tuesday in February of even-numbered years.
Live Audio Stream of the Press Conference
“Having the general primary election in March will increase voter turnout and encourage the people to have a greater voice in the election process, which is what democracy is all about,” said Governor Quinn. “It provides voters with more time to delve into the issues and to know the candidates who seek to represent them.”
Senate Bill 355, sponsored by Sen. Deanna Demuzio (D-Carlinville) and Rep. Elaine Nekritz (D-Northbrook), was passed with overwhelming support in the General Assembly. Among those also supporting the new law is: AARP, Cook County Clerk, Illinois Association of County Clerks and Recorders and the Montgomery County Clerk. The law takes effect Jan. 1, 2011.
In 2007, the Illinois General Assembly moved the primary election from the third Tuesday in March, when it had been held since the 1970s, to the first Tuesday in February. The move was made to ensure that the Illinois primary would be relevant in the 2008 presidential contest.
However, supporters of the new law determined the combination of Illinois’ winter weather and campaign activity so soon after the holidays led to decreased turnout among voters at the Feb. 2, 2010 general primary election.

Tuesday, March 9, 2010

55th Senate District Candidate

CHARLESTON—Josh Weger announced his candidacy for state senate today. He is running for the seat currently held by GOP Senator Dale Righter.

“Families across the state are struggling and we need to create jobs now,” said Weger. “People are looking to their elected officials to rise above partisan rhetoric and come up with real solutions,” add Weger.

Weger, a 31 year old Democrat from Lawrenceville, Illinois, is an expert in economic development and job creation. He works everyday to bring jobs back to Illinois as the Southeast Region Manager for the Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity. In addition he also serves as a board member of the Southeastern Illinois Economic Development Authority which focuses on economic development in our area.
“I am running for senate to bring my expertise in job creation to the state legislature,” said Mr. Weger. “The legislature needs to do more to create jobs and I have the skills to get the economy going again."

Due to the absence of a Democratic candidate on the ballot in the February primary, the Democratic county chairmen are able to select a candidate for the General Election. They convened last night and Mr. Weger was chosen as the candidate because of his experience creating jobs and his record of public service.

About Josh Weger—Josh has lived in Southeastern Illinois entire life and comes from a long line of blue collar workers. Josh attended Lincoln Trail College and then transferred to the University of Illinois at Springfield where he earned a bachelor’s degree in Economics. Josh went to work at the Illinois Auditor General’s Office where he worked to root out waste and corruption in state government. He was able to pursue his passion for economic development at the Illinois Department of Commerce & Economic Opportunity, where he has been a key player in bringing FutureGen to Mattoon. While working at DCEO, Josh completed his master’s in Political Science. He currently resides in Lawrenceville.

Thursday, March 4, 2010

Effingham County Democrats Reorganization

Officers Elected:

Chairman - Randy Becker
First Vice Chairman - Leon Gobczynski
Second Vice Chairman - Audrey Griffith
Secretary - James Hammer
Treasurer - Shirley McEvers

Democrat Elected Officials

  • Effingham County Board Distric G-Doug McCain
  • Effingham County Treasurer - Steve Dasenbrock
  • Effingham County Board District C - Karen Luchtefeld

Effingham County Democrats Officers

  • Chairman - Audrey Griffith
  • First Vice Chairman - Dan Niebrugge
  • Second Vice Chairman - Allen Wente
  • Secretary - James Hammer
  • Treasurer - Shirley McEvers