Thursday, November 20, 2008

Ill. Senate Democrats pick Cullerton as new leader

SPRINGFIELD, Ill. (AP) - There's a shakeup at the statehouse, with lawmakers resolving leadership battles on both sides of the aisle.
Illinois Senate Democrats tonight picked Chicagoan John Cullerton to become their leader, putting him in line to become Senate president in January.
And Senate Republicans resolved a leadership battle of their own. They elected Christine Radogno of Lemont, making her the first woman to win 1 of the Legislature's top leadership posts.
Cullerton and Radogno will start their new jobs in January when a new General Assembly is sworn in.
It will be the first major changes in the Springfield cast of characters since 2003, when 3 of the four legislative leaders entered their current positions.

Democrat Elected Officials

  • Effingham County Board Distric G-Doug McCain
  • Effingham County Treasurer - Steve Dasenbrock
  • Effingham County Board District C - Karen Luchtefeld

Effingham County Democrats Officers

  • Chairman - Audrey Griffith
  • First Vice Chairman - Dan Niebrugge
  • Second Vice Chairman - Allen Wente
  • Secretary - James Hammer
  • Treasurer - Shirley McEvers