Friday, January 16, 2009

Roland Burris Is Sworn In As Illinois Senator

U.S. Senator-designate Roland Burris (D-IL) (L) and Assistant Senate Majority Leader Dick Durbin (D-IL) walk toward the Senate Chamber underneath a painting of Abraham Lincoln signing the Emancipation Proclamation before Vice President Dick Cheney swears him into the Senate at a ceremony in the Old Senate Chamber at the U.S. Capitol on January 15, 2009 in Washington, DC. Burris was appointed by Illinois Governor Rod Blagojevich to fill the Senate seat vacated by President-elect Barack Obama.

Democrat Elected Officials

  • Effingham County Board Distric G-Doug McCain
  • Effingham County Treasurer - Steve Dasenbrock
  • Effingham County Board District C - Karen Luchtefeld

Effingham County Democrats Officers

  • Chairman - Audrey Griffith
  • First Vice Chairman - Dan Niebrugge
  • Second Vice Chairman - Allen Wente
  • Secretary - James Hammer
  • Treasurer - Shirley McEvers