Friday, October 16, 2009

Governor Pat Quinn Names New Members To Community Outreach Board

SPRINGFIELD – October 15, 2009. Governor Pat Quinn today named 20 members to the Serve Illinois Commission. The Commission, supported by the Illinois Department of Human Services, enhances and supports community volunteerism and administers the AmeriCorps State program in Illinois.
Earlier this year, Governor Quinn announced $8.9 million in federal funds for Illinois’ AmeriCorps programs, including $2.7 million from the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA). AmeriCorps volunteers dedicate a year to improving education, human services, environmental quality, public health and public safety through the United States.
The members of the Serve Illinois Commission are appointed to three-year terms. For more information the Commission, please visit or call 1-800-592-9896.
Newly Appointed Serve Illinois Commission Members
Member -Hometown- Position
Lawrence Benito- Chicago - Deputy Director, Illinois Coalition for Immigrant and Refugee Rights
Merri Dee - Chicago - Owner, Merri Dee Communications
Alvin Goldfarb - Macomb - President, Western Illinois University
Nancy K. Jameson -Macomb - Director, West Central Illinois RSVP
Howard L. Lathan - Chicago - Associate Executive Director, Community Development & Organization, Chicago Area Project
Bob McCammon- Lake Villa - Executive Director, Youth Conservation Corps
Fred Nettles - Springfield - Director of Partners for Hope Program, Illinois Department of Human Services
Giraldo Rosales- Champaign - Assistant Dean of Students, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Cynthia Sims - Carbondale - Assistant Professor, Department of Workforce Education and Development at Southern Illinois University Carbondale
John Sirek - Chicago - Citizenship Program Director, McCormick Foundation
Steven S. Wolfe - Glen Ellyn - Intern/Volunteer Coordinator, Probation & Court Services Department of the 18th Judicial Circuit, DuPage County
Gloria Verastegui - Gilberts - Youth Representative to the Commission, Loyola University Chicago Student
Non Voting Members
Member -Hometown- Position
Jane Angelis - Carbondale - Founder and Director, Intergenerational Initiative
Judy Donath - Springfield - Project Director, RSVP for Sangamon, Menard and Logan Counties
Kathy Engelken - Des Plaines - Executive Director, Illinois Campus Compact at DePaul University
Michael Mangan - Mt. Prospect - Director, Service-Learning Project at The Center: Resources for Teaching and Learning
Arlan McClain - Dixon - Executive Director, Kreider Services
Judy Swinson - Centralia - Director, Volunteer Services at St. Mary’s Good Samaritan Inc.
Genita Robinson - Chicago - Executive Director, Lawyers Lend a Hand to Youth Program
Barb Tubekis - Winetka - Chair, Volunteer Centers of Illinois

Democrat Elected Officials

  • Effingham County Board Distric G-Doug McCain
  • Effingham County Treasurer - Steve Dasenbrock
  • Effingham County Board District C - Karen Luchtefeld

Effingham County Democrats Officers

  • Chairman - Audrey Griffith
  • First Vice Chairman - Dan Niebrugge
  • Second Vice Chairman - Allen Wente
  • Secretary - James Hammer
  • Treasurer - Shirley McEvers