Sunday, May 31, 2009

House says 'No' to temporary tax hike

SPRINGFIELD—Democrats in the Illinois House led the rejection tonight of a $4.5 billion plan to boost income taxes by 50 percent for the next two years, with a midnight deadline approaching to fund a new state budget.
The House action came after Democrats decided in a closed-door meeting that they also didn’t have the votes for a higher, permanent tax plan passed by the Senate.
The House voted 42-74 for the measure, which required 60 votes for approval to go on to the Senate. There were two "present" votes. Here's the roll call: House Temporary Tax Vote.

Democrat Elected Officials

  • Effingham County Board Distric G-Doug McCain
  • Effingham County Treasurer - Steve Dasenbrock
  • Effingham County Board District C - Karen Luchtefeld

Effingham County Democrats Officers

  • Chairman - Audrey Griffith
  • First Vice Chairman - Dan Niebrugge
  • Second Vice Chairman - Allen Wente
  • Secretary - James Hammer
  • Treasurer - Shirley McEvers