Saturday, September 20, 2008

Local Debate For State Candidates Set

A legislative candidate debate is set for 7 p.m. Thursday in the Washington Room of the Hilton Garden Inn. Participants include state Senate candidates John O. Jones and Henry Kijonka, as well as state House of Representatives candidates David Reis and Jason Warfel.

Local businessman Jeff Bloemker will moderate the debate. Questions will be posed by a panel that includes Premier Broadcasting Station Manager Greg Sapp, Cromwell Radio Group News Director Sara Fred and Effingham Daily News Managing Editor Donna Riley-Gordon.The debate will be broadcast live on WCRA 1090 AM and WXEF 97.9 FM.The Greater Effingham Chamber of Commerce & Industry is sponsoring the debate.

Democrat Elected Officials

  • Effingham County Board Distric G-Doug McCain
  • Effingham County Treasurer - Steve Dasenbrock
  • Effingham County Board District C - Karen Luchtefeld

Effingham County Democrats Officers

  • Chairman - Audrey Griffith
  • First Vice Chairman - Dan Niebrugge
  • Second Vice Chairman - Allen Wente
  • Secretary - James Hammer
  • Treasurer - Shirley McEvers