Sunday, November 6, 2011

DNC Chair Debbie Wasserman Schultz’s Statement on Senate Republicans’ Vote to Block Job Growth Through U.S. Infrastructure Development

Following the vote by Republicans in the U.S. Senate to block legislation that would create jobs and grow the economy through the development of our nation’s infrastructure, DNC Chair Debbie Wasserman Schultz released the following statement:
“It’s almost hard to believe: This is now the third time in a matter of weeks that Republicans in the Senate have voted in unison to block part or all of the American Jobs Act, which would create jobs and strengthen our economy. First, Republicans filibustered the President’s jobs bill in its entirety—then, when President Obama and Democrats tried to move forward with legislation that would prevent hundreds of thousands of teachers and first responders from losing their jobs, the Senate GOP shot that down, too.“Today, they did it again—voting to block legislation that would make an immediate $50 billion investment in America’s roads and bridges and a $10 billion investment to create a bipartisan National Infrastructure Bank. This bill would create hundreds of thousands of jobs for construction workers who will rebuild our nation’s crumbling roads, bridges, rails and runways—and it would help transform our infrastructure to keep American businesses competitive in the global economy. But Republicans keep standing in the way.“With too many Americans looking for work and middle-class families struggling to get ahead, this is unacceptable. It’s time for Republicans in Congress to stop putting partisan politics before the needs of the American people. It’s time for them to come to the table and work with the President to pass the American Jobs Act and move our country forward.”

Democrat Elected Officials

  • Effingham County Board Distric G-Doug McCain
  • Effingham County Treasurer - Steve Dasenbrock
  • Effingham County Board District C - Karen Luchtefeld

Effingham County Democrats Officers

  • Chairman - Audrey Griffith
  • First Vice Chairman - Dan Niebrugge
  • Second Vice Chairman - Allen Wente
  • Secretary - James Hammer
  • Treasurer - Shirley McEvers