Sunday, April 25, 2010

Senate Democrats

Crowds move through Capitol, bills move through committees
This week, committee deadline week, saw almost 200 bills move in the Illinois Senate that originated in the House. This report highlights some of the initiatives passing committees this week. Two weeks remain until the May 7 adjournment goal.

Thousands flock to Springfield to demand responsible budget
Thousands of Illinois citizens came to Springfield on Wednesday to collectively highlight their frustration of state budget crisis. The Responsible Budget Coalition Rally and Lobby Day was one of the largest rallies ever recorded at the State Capitol.

President Cullerton provided a video message to address rally attendees' budget concerns; the video was featured among the multitude of media stories that day.

New rights near for adult adoptees
The only bill the Illinois Senate passed to the Governor this week was an initiative Senator Wilhelmi moved regarding reforms to our state’s adoption laws. House Bill 5428 will give adult adopted persons the right to access a non-certified copy of their original birth certificate. Birth parents will reserve the right to have their names redacted from an adoptee's birth certificate if they choose.
Wilhelmi, Feigenholtz strike compromise for both sides >

School districts prompt Kotowskie bill
The Energy Committee this week passed HB 6419, an innovative bill sponsored by Senator Kotowski to allow school districts to join together to build and operate renewable energy sources, most likely wind turbines.
This plan originated with Carpentersville-based School District 300, Keeneyville Elementary District 20 in Hanover Park and Prospect Heights District 23. These three school districts want to use Build America Bonds and New Market Tax Credits to establish a 20-megawatt wind farm in Stark County to defray their electrical costs. The wind farm would be environmentally friendly and save the northwest suburban districts millions.

Read about more members' bills advanced this week >

To learn more about the Senate Democrats' work this week, click here >

Democrat Elected Officials

  • Effingham County Board Distric G-Doug McCain
  • Effingham County Treasurer - Steve Dasenbrock
  • Effingham County Board District C - Karen Luchtefeld

Effingham County Democrats Officers

  • Chairman - Audrey Griffith
  • First Vice Chairman - Dan Niebrugge
  • Second Vice Chairman - Allen Wente
  • Secretary - James Hammer
  • Treasurer - Shirley McEvers